If you want to How to delete an Outlook & Hotmail, you only need to sign up with a Microsoft account. In this article we show you how to create an email and thus be able to enjoy all the benefits associated with your account. If you already have a Hotmail account, you just have to log in to check your emails.
Delete Outlook / Hotmail Account
To start deleting your Outlook / Hotmail account you will need a web browser (it can be a PC or a mobile device) with an Internet connection. Of course, it is essential that you remember your email address and password to log in and that Microsoft can unsubscribe you. Here are the steps to delete your Outlook account:
After a period of 60 days the account will be deleted . You can always cancel the deletion procedure during that period, information that we will explain below. Attention, sorry ?! Remember that you can always log in again with the same access data defined when creating your email account, doing this will automatically cancel the process of removing the account.
Cancel the process of removing your Outlook or Hotmail account
If the aforementioned 60-day period has not yet passed, you can reverse the process of deleting your Outlook / Hotmail account and recover it only by logging in. Next, we explain the steps to recover the account :
- Access https://login.live.com and log into your Outlook / Hotmail account.
- Enter your usual access data , that is, your email or phone number or Skype username and password.
- An alert will appear asking ‘ Reopen account? «, You will see the scheduled final deletion date and will ask you« What do you want to do? «, Press the blue button” Reopen account “to start account recovery.
- Verify your identity by sending an email to your secondary email address or via SMS to the phone number registered in your account. Choose a verification method to identify yourself and press Send.
- Open your inbox of the secondary email address or your mobile to read the SMS message , read the numeric code and enter it in the form to verify your identity .
- Ready! A ” Your account is open again ” notice will appear , confirming that your account is no longer marked for closure.
When you enter your Outlook you will find everything as you left it and you can continue working normally, you can even start the account deletion process again later if you want.
Reasons to delete an Outlook or Hotmail account
Not many people decide to delete their email account, since being free, it usually falls into oblivion. However, lack of use, privacy concerns, and other concerns are reasons enough to delete a Microsoft Hotmail / Outlook account. Here are the main reasons / opinions that users express to Microsoft when initiating the erasure process:
- Multiple email accounts : if you have multiple accounts, it is possible to get confused when trying to access or use certain services, something that is solved by closing the unused accounts and keeping a main account.
- I use an account on another service and I don’t use this one : a lot of people use services like Gmail or Yahoo! Mail / Mail Yahoo! therefore, it is a common reason for deletion.
- Hacked or hacked account : when deleting it, the hacker will not be able to access your data.
- I no longer need an Outlook account : having another email account with my own domain or other services.
- Confusion with access to Skype : many users still use the “username” to access Skype, but having merged, new Skype accounts are created only from an Outlook / Hotmail email account, allowing more than 200 million users, which Skype initially had, continue to log in with their “username”, creating confusion for someone else to contact them.